A drawing is simply a line going for a walk

Some time last year, not long after kids started pre-school, I found DS drawing in his room.

– What are you doing, I asked.

– I am doing a Pork Lee design mummy.

– Oh nice. Who is Pork Lee?

– Oh he is an engineer mummy. I love his designs.

– Oh … you mean Paul Klee!

– Yes mummy. Pork Lee!

A drawing inspired by Paul Klee - 5 year old

A drawing inspired by Paul Klee – 5 year old

My sweet little boy.

A few days ago, at school drop-off.  I found him working quite intently on something at his desk.

To my surprise, it was another “Pork Lee”.

Paul Klee inspired drawing - 6 years old

Paul Klee inspired drawing – 6 years old

So, it turns out that he has been working on this piece almost every morning at school since January. I can’t wait to see it when it is finished.

This is just one of many. He has previously drawn pictures of aliens, people and animals in this way.

I don’t know why he likes to draw in this “style” so much, but I love it. It is so simple but yet so effective and a lot of fun too !

A drawing is simply a line going for a walk (Paul Klee).
While looking Paul Klee up on Google yesterday, in an attempt to find out more about him and his work. I found out there is a Paul Klee exhibition at Tate Modern London at the moment.

I immediately booked tickets.

We are heading there on Sunday (Only one week left until exhibition finishes). DS is so excited about it, he even packed his “Pork Lee” drawings, so he can show it to Paul Klee.  He also packed along with him, some drawing pens and his sketch-book, because he wants to do some drawing together with the man himself ! I didn’t have the heart to tell him that the man passed away in 1940 …

Let’s see if the exhibition will further inspire DS or disappoint.

Leave a Reply

